SITFE Bursary Application 2019: Sugar Industry Trust Fund for Education


The Sugar Industry Trust Fund for Education (SITFE) was launched in 1965 as a private sector initiative aimed at assisting dependants of people associated with the sugar industry. In its 53 year history, SITFE has supported a broad spectrum of educational projects ranging from bursaries, infrastructure development, learner and educator development initiatives to literacy and arts and culture projects.

Bursaries are only available for studies at:

  • University of Cape Town,
  • University of Witwatersrand,
  • University of KwaZulu-Natal,
  • University of Zululand
  • University Stellenbosch,
  • University of Pretoria,
  • University of Johannesburg,
  • University of the Western Cape,
  • University of Fort Hare,
  • Rhodes University,
  • Durban University of Technology,
  • Mangosuthu University of Technology,
  • University of Mpumalanga,
  • Sol Plaatje University,
  • Tshwane University of Technology,
  • Owen Sithole College of Agriculture,
  • Cedara College of Agriculture

Who Qualifies

Applicants must be either:

Registered or have applied in the Faculties of Science, Engineering or Agriculture at a University, University of Technology or College of Agriculture. or The child of a sugarcane farm worker who is registered or has applied for any field of study at a University, University of Technology or College of Agriculture.

Disadvantaged applicants and first years from sugarcane growing areas, where mills and sugar industry administrative infrastructure are located, receive preference


How to Apply


Application forms are available on the South African Sugar Association website which administers the Trust Fund.

Please visit for application forms.

For the 2019 academic year SITFE may partner with National Student Financial Aid Scheme (NSFAS). Therefore, in addition to the SITFE application forms it is compulsory to apply on the NSFAS website. Please visit for online applications.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.